THE MEETING OF EXETER CITY COUNCIL

Guildhall Tuesday 18 May 2010

The Right Worshipful the Lord Mayor (Cllr Winterbottom) The Deputy Lord Mayor (Cllr R Smith) Councillors D Baldwin, M A Baldwin, Boyle, Branston, P J Brock, S Brock, Choules, Coates, Cole, Mrs Danks, Edwards, Fullam, Gale, Mrs Henson, Hobden, Martin, Mitchell, D J Morrish, Mrs J Morrish, Newby, Newcombe, Newton, Noble, Payne, Prowse, Robson, Sheldon, Shepherd, Shiel, P A Smith, Starling, Sterry, Taghdissian, Thompson, Wadham and Wardle

27

ELECTION OF THE LORD MAYOR

RESOLVED on the nomination of Councillor D. Baldwin, seconded by Councillor PA Smith, that Councillor Choules be elected Lord Mayor of the City for the ensuing Municipal Year.

The Lord Mayor was invested with his Robe and Chain of Office, made his Declaration of Acceptance of Office, took the Chair and returned thanks.

28

APPOINTMENT OF A DEPUTY LORD MAYOR

RESOLVED on the nomination of Councillor Martin, seconded by Councillor Taghdissian, that Councillor Sheldon be appointed Deputy Lord Mayor of the City for the ensuing Municipal Year.

The Deputy Lord Mayor was invested with his Robe and Chain of Office, made his Declaration of Acceptance of Office and returned thanks.

29

VOTE OF THANKS

RESOLVED that the Council record its appreciation for the able and courteous manner in which Councillor Winterbottom and Mrs J. Winterbottom have discharged the duties of Lord Mayor and Lady Mayoress during the past year.

Councillor Mrs Henson presented, on behalf of the Council, the retiring Lord Mayor's and retiring Lady Mayoress' badges.

The retiring Lord Mayor returned thanks.

RESOLVED that the Council record its appreciation for the able and courteous manner in which Councillor Mrs Smith and Mr Phillips have discharged the duties of Deputy Lord Mayor and Deputy Lord Mayor's Escort during the past year.

The retiring Deputy Lord Mayor returned thanks.

30 APPOINTMENT OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL FOR THE ENSUING YEAR

Councillor Cole nominated and Councillor Mitchell seconded Councillor Fullam as Leader of the Council.

Councillor D Baldwin nominated and Councillor Martin seconded Councillor Edwards as Leader of the Council.

In accordance with Standing Order 27(1), a named vote was called for. The voting on the nomination of Councillor Fullam as Leader of the Council was as follows:

Voting for:

Councillors MA Baldwin, PJ Brock, Mrs SR Brock, Coates, Cole, Fullam, Mrs Henson, Hobden, Mitchell, Newby, Newcombe, Newton, Noble, Payne, Prowse, Shiel, PA Smith, Mrs R Smith, Starling, Taghdissian, Mrs Thompson, Wadham and Winterbottom

(23 Members)

Voting against:

Councillors D Baldwin, Boyle, Branston, Mrs Danks, Edwards, Gale, Martin, DJ Morrish, Mrs J Morrish, Robson, Sheldon, Shepherd, Sterry and Wardle

(14 members)

Abstain:

The Lord Mayor (Cllr M Choules)

(1 Member)

RESOLVED that Councillor Fullam be appointed Leader of the Council for the ensuing Municipal Year.

31

APPOINTMENT OF THE EXECUTIVE AND PORTFOLIO HOLDERS

RESOLVED that the Council's Executive be appointed as follows for the ensuing Municipal Year:-

Fullam Cole Newton Mitchell Wadham Brock, Mrs S.R. Mrs Henson Edwards	Leader, Budget and Strategic Vision Business Transformation and Human Resources Housing and Community Involvement Environment and Leisure Sustainable Development and Transport Economy and Tourism Conservative Labour
Mrs Morrish	Liberal

32

APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES

RESOLVED that the membership of Committees etc, Chairs and Deputy Chairs, as shown at the Appendix to these minutes, be agreed.

(The meeting commenced at 7.00 pm and closed at 8.30 pm)

Minute Item 32

APPENDIX

EXETER CITY COUNCIL

EXECUTIVE, SCRUTINY AND OTHER COMMITTEES ETC. 2010/2011

EXECUTIVE (9)

Fullam, A.A. (Chair) Brock, Mrs S.R. Cole, N.S. Edwards, P.W. Henson, Mrs Y.A.C. Mitchell, K.J. Newton, L. Morrish, Mrs J. Wadham, P.R.

PORTFOLIO HOLDERS

Fullam, A.A. Cole, N.S.

Newton, L. Mitchell, K.J. Wadham, P.R. Brock, Mrs S.R. Leader, Budget and Strategic Vision Business Transformation and Human Resources Housing and Community Involvement Environment and Leisure Sustainable Development and Transport Economy and Tourism

IMPLEMENTATION EXECUTIVE

(11 City Councillors)

Fullam, A.A. (Chair) Edwards, P.W. (Deputy Chair) Baldwin, D. Baldwin, M.A. Coates, J.H. Cole, N.S. Henson, Mrs Y.A.C. Hobden, S.M. Morrish, D.J. Shepherd, P.J. Smith, P.A.

(4 County Councillors)

Leadbetter, A.R. Newcombe, A.V.

Spence, Mrs S.M. Westlake, R.A.

SCRUTINY - RESOURCES (13)

Coates, J.H. (Chair) Martin, I.J. (Deputy Chair) Baldwin, M.A. Brock, P.J. Hobden, S.M. Morrish, D.J. Noble, B.C. Prowse, G.J. Shepherd, P.J. Smith, P.A. Sterry, H.R. Thompson, Mrs C. Wardle, A.J.

Employee Liaison Forum (5)

Cole, N.S. (Chair) Martin. I.J. Prowse, G.J.

Smith, P.A. Sterry, H.R.

SCRUTINY - COMMUNITY (13)

Baldwin, D. (Chair) Shiel, N. (Deputy Chair) Boyle, C. Branston, R.A. Danks, Mrs M.E. Hannaford, A.J. Hannaford, R.M.

Hobden, S.M. Newcombe, A.V. Smith, Mrs R. Payne, T.V. Taghdissian, J. Wardle, A.J.

SCRUTINY - ECONOMY (13)

Baldwin, M.A. (Chair) Gale, C.G. (Deputy Chair) Brock, P.J. Newcombe, A.V. Noble, B.C. Payne, T.V. Robson, L.S.

Sheldon, G.N. Smith, P.A. Smith. Mrs R. Taghdissian, J. Wardle, A.J. Winterbottom, J.W.

PLANNING COMMITTEE (13)

Henson, Mrs Y.A.C. (Chair) Shepherd, P.J. (Deputy Chair) Baldwin, D. Brock, P.J. Cole, N.S. Edwards, P.W. Hannaford, R.M.

Morrish, D.J. Newby, R.C. Thompson, Mrs C. Wadham, P.R.

Planning Member Working Group (8)

Cole, N.S. (Chair) Edwards, P.W. Morrish, D.J. Prowse, G.J.

Newby, R.C. Shepherd, P.J. Wadham, P.R. Chair of Planning Committee

Area Working Parties

Northern (5)

Page 2

Brock, P.J. Cole, N.S. Edwards, P.W.

Prowse, G.J. Thompson, Mrs C.

Prowse, G.J. Sheldon, G.N.

Southern (6)

Baldwin, D. Morrish, D.J. Henson, Mrs Y.A.C. Newby, R.C. Sheldon, G.N. Shepherd, P.J.

Western (2)

Hannaford, R.M.

Wadham, P.R.

LOCAL GOVERNMENT REVIEW COMMITTEE (10)

Edwards, P.W. (Chair) Henson, Mrs Y.A.C. (Deputy Chair) Baldwin, D. Baldwin, M.A. Coates, J.H.

Fullam, A.A. Mitchell, K.J. Morrish, D.J. Noble, B.C. Shepherd, P.J.

GRANTS COMMITTEE (8)

Newcombe, A.V. (Chair) Gale, C.G. Hannaford, A.J. Robson, L.S. Leader (ex-officio) Payne, T.V. Smith, Mrs R. Sheldon, G. N. Taghdissian, J.

LICENSING COMMITTEE (12)

Noble, B.C. (Chair) Danks, Mrs M.E. (Deputy Chair) Branston, R.A. Brock, Mrs S.R. Gale, C.G. Newby, R.C. Newton, L. Sheldon, G.N. Smith, Mrs R. Sterry, H.R. Thompson, Mrs C. Wadham, P.R.

Licensing Sub-Committees (3)

Licensing Sub-Committee membership to be drawn from Licensing Committee Members above.

STANDARDS COMMITTEE (8 + 3 independent members)

Mr Mimmack, A. (Independent Chair) Smith, Ms L. (Independent Deputy Chair) Brock, Mrs S.R. Danks, Mrs M.E. Hobden, S.M. Kirby, Professor B. (Independent member) Martin, I.J. Morrish, D.J. Starling, M.W. Sterry, H.R. Smith, Mrs R.

FINAL ACCOUNTS COMMITTEE (5)

Fullam, A.A. (Chair) Baldwin, M.A. Cole, N.S. Edwards, P.W. Morrish, D.J.

 $D:\laps\data\moderngov\Data\AgendaItemDocs\2\7\1\AI00011172\\yeqi1dph.doc$

EXETER HIGHWAYS AND TRAFFIC ORDERS COMMITTEE (13)

(4 City Councillors)

Gale, C.G. Shepherd, P.J. Taghdissian, J. Wadham, P.R.

(9 County Councillors)

Brock, P.J. Foggin, O.M. Hannaford, R.M. Leadbetter, A.R. Newcombe, A.V. Owen, J. Prowse, G.J. Spence, Mrs S.M. Westlake, R.A.